Hidden Art discovered in Bay City, Oregon!


Recently, I was invited to sing at Bay City United Methodist Church. We were pleasantly surprised what we discovered there. Beautiful works of art! Almost every window at the quaint old church has original stained glass windows created by the lay people in the 1950’s.

Mountain stain glass window Bay City UMC
Mountain stain glass window Bay City UMC

I did alittle research online on the history of the church. It cost $1,566.75 to build, was completed and dedicated on June 25, 1893. It is the oldest building in Tillamook County in continuous service as a church.

Detail of tree stain glass in Bay City UMC
Detail of tree stain glass in Bay City UMC

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

While the building is a bit worn from 100 years of use and coastal weather. Every window lights up with beautiful creations and different scenes.

Boat stain glass window at Bay City UMC
Boat stain glass window at Bay City UMC

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This reminded me of our own bodies,becoming used and worn out as we grow older. But the Holy  Spirit can make our eyes and spirits shine bright and sweet like our Savior.

Matthew 6:22: The light of the body is the eye: if therefore your eye be sound, your whole body shall be full of light.

Angel stain glass Bay City UMC
Angel stain glass Bay City UMC
Bay City United Methodist Church
Bay City United Methodist Church

 

 

 

I was very happy singing here and the good people were so loving and gracious. When I asked them to dance to my African gospel music, they all got up and danced unto the Lord. I could not see them but I sensed that it was the Lord’s doing. 

 

 

 

 

Presently, I am in the dark but someday I will see everything and I will see Jesus and that makes me glad.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Good bye  and many blessings to Bay City United Methodist Church!

Published by

IJenNeh

African Gospel Musician

Leave a Reply

